Important Election Day Information

The polls will be open from 7 a.m. to 8 p.m. on Election Day April 7, 2020, at the town hall, 230 E County Rd Y, Oshkosh WI 54901.

While we take precautions for the health and safety of our election inspectors and voters, this is what you can expect when you arrive, and we are asking voters to please abide by these rules.

  • The main door will either be held open or we will have a greeter opening the door to minimize contact with door handle.
  • Voter must sanitize hands when entering and leaving the building. Sanitizer will be available for use to voters.
  • Keep your distance, the 6’ rule, from other people.
  • Have your Photo ID or Proof of Residency out of your pocket, wallet or purse and if it is possible, wipe ID card with disinfectant.
  • We will have pens to sign the poll book you may keep, or you may bring your own.
  • We will ask you to mark the ballot with the special marking pen we provide and return it as your leave. The used marking pens will be sanitized before reuse. The marking pens we use are a quick-drying ink to not damage the machine.
  • Please be patient and courteous.

If you are experiencing shortness of breath, cough, fever (100.4F), nasal congestion, sore throat, achiness, in quarantine, or have recently traveled by commercial flight within the last 14-days, please call the town hall (920) 231-5887 for further instructions to either curbside vote or hospitalization absentee. Do not enter building.


The United States Supreme Court also issued a decision.  They have ruled on the deadline for absentee ballots:

Under this ruling, in order for an absentee ballot to be counted it must be postmarked by April 7 and received by 4:00pm on April 13th or hand delivered to the polls by 8:00 pm on Election Day, April 7.   Ballots postmarked after April 7 or hand delivered after 8:00pm on April 7 cannot be counted. 

Election Day tally results will not be known until after April 13th.

Questions: Call the town hall on Election Day at 920-231-5887 or email

I would like to personally give a HUGE THANK YOU to:

  • Hendricks Distillery, clerk for the Town of Rushford Peggy Hendricks, for the hand sanitizer.
  • Chairman Jim Erdman for running my errands and delivering absentees to the post office at the end of the day.
  • Supervisors Matt Merten and Bill Demler for creating the awesome election inspector barriers quickly and with little notice.
  • Treasurer Laura Hunt for expediting my shopping list to pick-up and deliver supplies.
  • First Responder Coordinator Jason Selwitschka for offering his expertise, assistance and supplies.
  • Carol Kaufmann for donating handmade masks and other odds and ends.
  • Town Custodian Bill Rupnow for prepping the building.
  • Chief Election Inspector Linda Werner for her leadership role.
  • Eternally grateful to all the wonderful people who have volunteered to step-in and work the polls. I will honor and acknowledge your names at a later date.
  • The State of Wisconsin and Winnebago County for their supplies and support.
  • The National Guard for their personnel assistance.
  • And to my family for putting up with me and supporting me through the last 3-weeks.
National Guard members